It’s been a long time since I was inspired to write about a quilt project. Instead I’ve been taking fabric expeditions with my ever growing collection of discarded textiles, like this composition featuring jeans buttons:

DSC04688

Or these crochet experiments with t-shirts:

IMG_0980

Turtle shells for cats?

IMG_1014

Crochet webbing for a beach chair?

Then Gretchen from Texas found me in the wild world of Etsy.  She had saved her sons’ jeans and wanted to turn them into quilts.  After a vetting chat, she sent me a box packed with about 35 pair.  The first set, from her oldest son, ranged in size from 4/5 years to men’s 36/34.  So I set my t-shirts aside and devoted myself to ripping out jeans seams.

18pair

justhangem

She wrote her son’s initials, CHC, on the waistbands.

I started with those adorable legs …

DSC06168

Arranged in different ways until ideas emerged …

DSC06189

In our chat Gretchen said to “focus on the imperfections.”   This excellent advice became my mantra as I chose what to draw attention to….

DSC06215

Like the glorious deep blue indigo revealed when seams were opened

DSC06217

and Matisse cut outs began dancing through my head.

images-2

And so it went, until I had assembled a variety of vignettes,

DSC06226

texting Gretchen along the way for feedback.  Luckily she was positive, so it was time to assemble a whole …

DSC06359

which was to be queen size. I created a border surround with the biggest legs to highlight the center design.

DSC06370

In spite of Buddy’s assistance, figuring out that center design was the toughest part.

One element was “a little bit of Mom and Dad.”

FullSizeRender-5

This bit of Mom and Dad buttoned together nicely could stand on its own as a little accent pillow.

Not without a little struggle (isn’t that the point?), a whole did come together,

DSC06477

and on the whole, I think it turned out well.

DSC06488

What do you think?

DSC06471

I really would like to know.  You can comment (click on the number to the right of the date, above) if you like.  Or, share with one or two friends you think might enjoy it.  If you REALLY REALLY like it, post on your preferred social media.  In any case, thank you for reading to the end!

DSC06469

