Linda came back to me around this time last year with an armful of stuffed plastic bags and a twinkle in her eye.  She had an idea:  a wall hanging using her mother’s old scarves and rhinestone buttons.

In her bags were buttons, which were a marvel unto themselves

DSC01919

I probably spent the better part of a day arranging and rearranging these on my worktable

DSC01921

I wanted to make a wreath somehow with them, but that wasn’t what Linda wanted

And there were more scarves, even after her project from last year

DSC01941

DSC01967

This was sheer, so I backed it with black fusible interface

DSC01980

Some were cut for a section of their design, like the one here for its polka dots

There was even a rhinestone belt, which she hoped could be used for the tabs to hang the finished piece on a rod

How could this be done? Twist around the rod?

How could this be done? Twist around the rod?

And best of all, she knew how she wanted to apply the buttons …as the center of fabric flowers!  The mission was clear, I just had to figure out a way to do it.  I won’t show you the how, because it involved flame and I don’t want anyone to start a fire on account of my shenanigans.  If you’re so inclined, after doing a little googling, you could find a tutorial, too.

So it was that flowers began to proliferate, and eventually each paired up with a matching button

DSC02001

The size she specified for the finished piece wasn’t huge, in fact it was a mere 22/23 inches square, while I was abundantly supplied with 30+ buttons and 25 scarves.  How to arrange so many elements in such a small space?  Somehow I had to simplify it.  Eliminating the solid color scarves, which already were appearing as flowers, I chose a square representative sample of each

DSC01995

and kept going to fill in a grid as background to the flowers

DSC02015

DSC02016

DSC02017

DSC02019

Now for the floral arrangement.  Big bouquet?

DSC02002

A smattering here and there?

DSC02034

At this point I texted Linda to see what she preferred.  While I waited to hear back I began to play  with a color wheel border

DSC02045

And tabs had to be fashioned out of that rhinestone belt (this was also something I don’t need to do again),

DSC02326

Then Linda chose to place one flower in each square

DSC02322

Best of all she was happy with the final product and bargain price given the work involved.  I haven’t made fabric flowers since then. Looking at the finished piece now, I think I like the border the best.  There are just so many ways to vary the entire composition.  What a riot of color to remember a woman who loved her scarves, her garden, her clothes, and colorful designs!

